CIVIC AFFAIRS

14 May 2012 6.00 - 6.40 pm

Present: Councillors Boyce (Chair), Rosenstiel (Vice-Chair), Brierley, Marchant-Daisley, Herbert and Stuart

Officers:

Chief Executive – Antoinette Jackson Head of Legal Services – Simon Pugh Committee Manager – Glenn Burgess

Also Present:

Councillor Tim Bick Councillor Sian Reid Councillor Mike Pitt Councillor Tim Ward Councillor John Hipkin

FOR ADOPTION BY THE COUNCIL

10/22/civ Nominations for Leader of the Council

The Committee received two nominations for the Leader of the Council, Councillor Tim Bick and Councillor Lewis Herbert.

Councillor Bick was invited to state, in the event of being elected Leader, any changes he would make to executive responsibilities. Councillor Bick said that responsibility for community safety and CCTV would be moved to the Leaders portfolio and responsibility for climate change would be moved to the portfolio of the Executive Councillor for Planning and Sustainable Transport. Councillor Herbert was invited to comment in a similar manner and said that he supported the proposed change to executive responsibilities.

Recommended that:

i. In the event of changes to executive responsibilities, corresponding changes be made to Scrutiny Committee responsibilities

10/23/civ Nominations for Committees for the Municipal Year 2012/13

The Committee considered a paper setting out the proposed size of committees, the allocations by party and the nominations received.

The Committee considered the rules on political balance set out in the Local Government & Housing Act 1989 in developing the recommendations set out below.

Councillor Boyce Proposed and Councillor Rosenstiel seconded a proposal to change the size of committees.

Recommended (by 4 votes to 0):

- i. That Strategy and Resources Scrutiny Committee, Environment Scrutiny Committee, Community Services Scrutiny Committee, Housing Management Board and the Planning Committee to be reduced in size from 9 members to 8.
- ii. That the Employment Appeals Panel to be increased in size from 9 members to 10.
- iii. That the Labour Group's proposal that one seat allocated to it on the Joint Development Control Committee and on the Employment Appeals Sub-Committee be allocated instead to the Independent/Conservative Group (as a departure from the rules on political proportionality). This would require Council's approval, nem. con.
- iv. To recommend to Council to agree the size and membership of the committees as follows:

Scrutiny Committees:

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	NOMINATIONS	
Community Services [with up to 3 co-	Liberal Democrats	4 (1)	Brown, Blackhurst, Kerr, Kightley. Alt: Pippas	
optees nominated by HMB and a nomination from the PCT]	Labour	4 (1)	Birtles, Blencowe (Housing Spokes), Moghadas (Arts, Sport, Public Places Spokes), O'Reilly (Community Development and	
		8 Total	Health Spokes). Alt: Todd-Jones	

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	NOMINATIONS	
Environment	Liberal Democrats	4 (1)	Kightley, Reid, Saunders, Tucker. Alt: Brierley	
	Labour	4 (1) 8 Total	Marchant-Daisley (Planning and Sutainable Transport Spokes), Owers (Environmental and Waste Services Spokes),Pogonowski, Johnson. Alt: Herbert	

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	NOMINATIONS	
Strategy & Resources	Liberal Democrats	4 (1)	Boyce, Brown, Rosenstiel, Tucker. Alt: Blackhurst	
	Labour	4 (1) 8 Total	Ashton, Birtles, Herbert (Climate Change and Strategy Spokes), Benstead (Customer Services and Resources Spokes). Alt: Pogonowski	

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	NOMINATIONS	
Housing Management Board	Liberal Democrats	4 (1)	Blackhurst, Brierley, Rosenstiel, Pippas Alt: TBC	
[plus 6 elected tenants/leasehol	Labour	4 (1)	Price (Spokes), Johnson, Bird, Pogonowski.	
ders]		8 Total	Alt: Blencowe	

Regulatory Committees:

COMMITTEE/ SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	NOMINATIONS
PLANNING	Liberal Democrat	4 (1)	Brown, Saunders, Stuart, Tunnacliffe. Alt: Tucker
	Labour	3 (1)	Blencowe, Dryden, Marchant-Daisley, Alt: Herbert
	Indep/Cons	1	Hipkin
	писр/Онз	8 Total	

COMMITTEE/ SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	NOMINATIONS
LICENSING (Currently meets: Mondays at 10am)	Liberal Democrat	6 (1)	Brierley, Pippas, Reiner, Rosenstiel, Saunders, Smith. Alt: Stuart
[Sub-Cttees appt. during Annual Meeting]	Labour	5 (1)	Benstead, Owers, Gawthrope, Hart, McPherson. Alt: Marchant-Daisley
91	Indep/Cons	1 (1) 12 Total	Meftah. Alt: Hipkin

Licensing Committee will meet to appoint the four sub-committees (of 3 members each)

Other Committees:

COMMITTEE/ SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	NOMINATIONS
CIVIC AFFAIRS	Liberal Democrat	3 (1)	Boyce, Pitt, Rosenstiel. Alt: Brierley
	Labour	3 (1)	Herbert, Benstead, Marchant-Daisley. Alt: Pogonowski
		6 Total	

COMMITTEE/ SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	NOMINATIONS
CAMBRIDGE TRAFFIC MANAGEMEN T AREA JOINT	Liberal Democrat	3 (1)	Brown, Rosenstiel, Tunnacliffe. Alt: Tucker,
COMMITTEE	Labour	3 (1) 6 Total	Price, Bird, Blencowe Alt: TBC
		ง เบเลเ	

COMMITTEE/ SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	NOMINATIONS
STANDARDS COMMITTEE	Liberal Democrat	3 (1)	Smart, Swanson, Tucker. Alt: Pitt
The External Members (3) will be recommended	Labour	3 (1)	McPherson, Dryden, + 1 TBC. Alt: TBC
for	External	3	
re-appointment	Members	9 Total	

COMMITTEE/ SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	NOMINATIONS
JOINT DEVELOPMENT CONTROL	Liberal Democrat	3 (1)	Reid, Smart, Tucker. Alt: Tunnacliffe
COMMITTEE	Labour	2 (1)	Blencowe, Dryden, Alt: Marchant-Daisley
	Indep/Cons	1	Hipkin
		6 Total	

COMMITTEE/ SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	NOMINATIONS
EMPLOYMENT APPEALS SUB	Liberal Democrat	5	Pippas, Reid, Saunders, Smart, Tucker.
	Labour	4	Price, Bird, Johnson, + 1 TBC
	Indep/Cons	1	Hipkin
		10 Total	

10/24/civ Nominations for Chairs and Vice Chairs of Scrutiny and Regulatory Committees

The committee received nominations for Chairs and Vice Chairs of Scrutiny and Regulatory Committees.

Resolved to note the nominations for Chairs and Vice Chairs of Scrutiny and Regulatory Committees as follows:

Committee	Lib Dem I	Nomination	Labour Nomination	
	Chair	Vice Chair	Chair	Vice Chair
Community Services	Kerr	Kightley	O'Reilly	-
Environment	Kightley	Saunders	Marchant- Daisley	-
Strategy and Resources	Brown	Rosenstiel	Benstead	-
НМВ	Blackhurst	Tenant Rep	Price	-
Planning	Stuart	Tunnacliffe	-	Blencowe
JDCC	Reid (City Lead)	-	Blencowe (City Lead)	-
Licensing	Rosenstiel	Reiner	-	Benstead
Civic Affairs	Boyce	Rosenstiel	Marchant- Daisley	
Employment Appeals Sub Committee	Smart	N/A	-	-

10/25/civ Nominations for Honorary Councillors

Recommended: that the Council appoints Councillor Nimmo-Smith and former Councillor Roman Znajek as Honorary Councillors.

The meeting ended at 6.40 pm

CHAIR